Skip to content
Thanks to our sponsors for their support

Author Topic: Ingliston Criterium Series #1  (Read 4958 times)

Jonny May

  • Guest
Ingliston Criterium Series #1
« on: April 25, 2002, 04:00:00 PM »
The East of Scotland CA crit series kicked off on Thursday 25 April with almost 90 riders taking part and giving a show of fast and aggressive riding. In the first Divison race Junior riders took the honours with Andrew Murphy, recently third in the Junior Peaks, taking the bunch sprint from Stuart McManus, Glasgow United and Sean Newington, Edinburgh Road Club.

Former GB rider Alex Coutts was a surprise entrant in the Premier League race having recently flown in from Holland en route to the British Espoirs Championships. Also on the start line were Richard Chapman and James McCallum briefly back from racing in Belgium and Ross Muir and Greg Imlah recently on Scotland duty in the Tour du Loir et Cher.

Martin Lonie featured in a doomed early solo break before Greg Imlah went off the front. He was joined by Ross Muir and Gary Hand (Pedal Power) who forged a significant lead before being joined by four other riders. This looked like the crucial break but such was the speed and the windy conditions they faded to be caught by the remnants of the bunch. Lonie again put in attack and stayed away for a couple of laps but with 8 laps left it was all back together again. Ross Muir then negated all attacks by driving hard on the front for the final six laps to set up the victory for team mate McCallum who timed his sprint to perfection to win by half a length.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2002, 04:00:00 PM by Jonny May »

Jonny May

  • Guest
Ingliston Criterium Series #1
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2002, 04:00:00 PM »
First Division
1. Andrew Murphy    Unattached (J)
2. Stuart McManus   Glasgow United CC(J)
3. Sean Newington   Edinburgh RC (J)
4. Gavin Cooper     Cromarty Firth CC
5. Tom Fernie       Team Velo Ecosse
6. Oliver Brookes   Edinburgh RC
7. Pete Lambie      Kingdom RT
8. Alan Laing       Team Velo Ecosse
9. Paul French      Unattached
10 Al Cole          Edinburgh RC
1st Female: Bianca Thomas (Edinburgh RC)
1st Junior: Andrew Murphy
1st Youth: Tony Reidy (Pro Acto Expressa)
Premier League
1. James MacCallum    SCU Race Team
2. Gary Hand          Pedal Power
3. Richard Chapman    SCU Race Team
4. Stephen Couper     Glasgow United
5. Evan Oliphant      Team Velo Ecosse
6. Andy Mathieson     Musselburgh RCC
7. Ray Reidy Pro      Acto Expressa
8. Gregg Imlah        SCU Race Team
9. Liam Innes         Falkirk BC
10. Ross Muir          SCU Race Team
« Last Edit: April 25, 2002, 04:00:00 PM by Jonny May »


Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 
SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines