Skip to content
Thanks to our sponsors for their support

Author Topic: Ingliston Criterium Series #3  (Read 3769 times)

neil muir

  • Guest
Ingliston Criterium Series #3
« on: May 09, 2002, 04:00:00 PM »
Stollery breaks Scottish hearts at Ingliston Crit #3

English visitor John Stollery (Robert Grinsell Travel) made a rare visit to Edinburgh tonight (9 May) and rode a canny race to steal victory from the local favourites in the Premier League race at the Ingliston Crit Series.

Martin Lonie (SCU Race Team) was the first to make a decisive break and shortly after Alistair Taylor (Musselburgh RCC) took off in pursuit. With the gaps holidng at a handful of seconds Liam Innes (Falkirk BC) and John Stollery attacked and went clear of the chasing bunch. With two thirds of the race covered the four came together and began to draw away from the bunch. Sensing that this was the crucial break first Evan Oliphant (Velo Ecosse) and 2 laps later Richard Chapman (SCU RT) rapidly bridged across making six in the break. With four laps to go Lonie launched an attack to be closed down by Chapman, the injection of pace causing Taylor to be dropped. James McCallum took off from the bunch which was chasing at 9 seconds. With 3 laps to go Chapman attacked but it was not decisive and as he was caught Stollery launched the perfect counter attack opening a gap of 6 seconds going into the final lap. Riding strongly he increased his lead to enjoy a clear solo victory by 17 seconds at the finish. Track specialist Oliphant showed devastating sprinting speed to take second place from Lonie. James McCallum (SCU RT) led in the bunch 30 seconds down to maintain his lead in the series by 2 points from Oliphant.


1. John Stollery Robert Grinsell Travel

2. Evan Oliphant Team Velo Ecosse

3. Martin Lonie SCU RT

4. Liam Innes Falkirk BC

5. Alistair Taylor Musselburgh RCC

6. Richard Chapman SCU RT

7. James McCallum SCU RT

8. Daren Howitt Team Velo Ecosse

9. Gary Hand Pedal Power

10. Gary McCrae Pro Acto Expressa

In the First Divison race WCPP rider Jo Cavill made history by being the first female to win this race. Riding a perfect tactical race she saved her energies for a huge attack on the last lap opening a gap which was just enough to cause blushes in the rapidly closing bunch which was led in by speedmen Ross Crook (Edinburgh Road Club) and Stuart McManus (Glasgow Wheelers). McManus increased his lead in the overall table.


1. Jo Cavill SCU RT

2. Ross Crook Edinburgh RC

3. Stuart McManus Glasgow Wheelers

4. Jon Owen Midlothian RT

5. Andy Brown Edinburgh RC

6. Pete Lambie Kingdom RT

7. P French Unattached

8. Tony Reidy Pro Acto Expressa

9. Andy Sim Edinburgh RC

10. Gavin Cooper Cromarty Firth CC First Woman: Jo Cavill

First Junior: Stuart McManus

First Youth Tony Reidy
« Last Edit: May 09, 2002, 04:00:00 PM by neil muir »


Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 
SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines