Skip to content
Thanks to our sponsors for their support

Author Topic: Eastern Promise RR  (Read 5854 times)

Jonny May

  • Guest
Eastern Promise RR
« on: June 12, 2002, 04:00:00 PM »
1st Ross Muir Cycling Scotland
2nd Stuart McGregor Glasgow Couriers
3rd Evan Oliphant Velo Ecosse

Hill Prime Andrew Wright Sandy Wallace Cycles

1st Veteran Andy Mathieson Musselburgh RCC
1st 4th Cat Chris Cole Midlothian RT
« Last Edit: June 12, 2002, 04:00:00 PM by Jonny May »

Ken Russell

  • Guest
Eastern Promise RR
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2002, 04:00:00 PM »
Lothian summer - balmy evenings, with the fragrance of blooming flowers on a gentle breeze. Or alternatively just the usual driving winds, premature darkness and icy lashing rain that reminds you not to take your winter gloves off yet, even if it is mid June...

The race was contested by a high quality field, featuring some of the Scottish Commonwealth Games road squad and a number of visitors from the west. The numerous small climbs and heavy roads on the Howgate circuit offer lots of opportunities for attacking riding, and as usual the action started almost immediately. The ERC squad were active near the front, aiming to neutralise any early breaks and make sure we got a rider into any important moves.

Matt Smith got himself into the decisive break after the short but demanding climb near Gladhouse reservoir, and the remainder of the team immediately shut down the bunch to prevent any chase developing. Rob Waller, making a rare on-road foray, was unlucky not to bridge to the break, and eventually came back to join the bunch.

Despite riding strongly with the break to chase down the 3 leaders, Matt was unlucky to be involved in a crash on the last lap, but finished on his own to claim 12th place.

With the break well clear, the rest of the squad took the opportunity to practice some attacking on the final run in, with Ken and Calum managing to clear the bunch from an initial attack by Andy Brown (first 4th cat prize) and ride a two up to the finish just ahead of the remnants of the main peloton. New team member Simon Bullock put in some good chasing efforts early in the race, and Paul Black was pleased to have finished a full road race for the first time, following a long chase after losing contact on the main climb.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2002, 04:00:00 PM by Ken Russell »

Jonny May

  • Guest
Eastern Promise RR
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2002, 04:00:00 PM »
1Ross MuirCycling Scotland1:50:00
2Stuart MacGregorGlasgow Couriers00:10
3Evan OliphantVelo Ecossest
4Andrew WrightSandy Wallace Cycles00:12
5John StolleryRobert Grinsell Travel00:16
6Alex CouttsUnattached00:19
7Barry McGurkGlasgow Couriers00:40
8Greg ImlahCycling Scotland00:42
9Andrew MathesonMusselburgh RCC00:43
10Craig McQueenFalkirk00:45
11Chris ColeMidlothian RT01:26
12Matt SmithEdinburgh Road Club03:02
13Calum MacLeanEdinburgh Road Club04:56
14Ken RussellEdinburgh Road Clubst
15Tom FernieVelo Ecosse05:27
16Jason HyndMidlothian RTst
17Andrew BrownEdinburgh Road Clubst
18Alastair DowMidlothian RTst
19Randle ShentonVelosportivst
20James MoorePeebles CCst
21Edmund TarwinskiMidlothian RT05:40
22Scott ShepherdVelo Ecossest
23Rob WallerEdinburgh Road Club06:10
24Simon BullockEdinburgh Road Club06:15
25Andrew RowatMusselburgh RCCst
26Andrew DaviesMidlothian RT06:18
27Gavin CooperCromarty Firth/ Ken Ross CC06:50
28Paul BlackEdinburgh Road Club08:26
29Paul McInallyAlpine Bikes/Glasgow Mountain Bike Club09:51
 Alastair KinroyEdinburgh Road ClubDNF
 Timmy MayEdinburgh Road ClubDNF
 Mark SilverPedal Power RTDNF
 Darren HowittPro Acto ExpressaDNF
 Craig GrieveKingdom RT?DNF
 Stephen McQueenFalkirkDNF
 Martin LonieCycling ScotlandDNF
 Anthony NugentRoyal Albert CCDNF
 Andrew CoxPedal Power RTDNF
 John OwenMidlothian RTDNF
 Wilson KaneRoyal Albert CCDNF
 Neil WilsonRoyal Albert CCDNF
 Bob BrownVelo SportivDNF
« Last Edit: June 12, 2002, 04:00:00 PM by Jonny May »


Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 
SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines