Skip to content
Thanks to our sponsors for their support

Author Topic: Ingliston Crit Series No3  (Read 3355 times)

neil muir

  • Guest
Ingliston Crit Series No3
« on: May 01, 2003, 04:00:00 PM »

On a cold wet evening Evan Oliphant, runner up in the recent Tour of the North, recorded the first win of the season for his Velo Ecosse team in the Ingliston Crit Series. He has added some strength to his awesome sprint and won this time in glorious solitude bridging across to the leading duo of Jonathan McBain (Pedal Power) and junior Sean Newington (Edinburgh Road Club) with just over a lap to go and then attacking to win by 5 seconds.

Captain McBain had obviously galvanised his Pedal Power team-mates after last week's disappointments and led by example by attacking from the gun and immediately opening a 5-second gap. He held his lead for two laps before the peleton closed him down. Next to attack were his team-mates Scott McCrae and Gary Hand but hard work by Ken Russell (Edinburgh road Club), last week's winner, brought them back. Oliphant took the first sprint prime from Hand who soon after got away with John Stollery (Velo Ecosse) but their escape was short-lived. He was again present in the next split along with Russell and Oliphant but the bunch was in no mood to let anything develop. From gruppo compatto Hand had enough gas to take the second sprint prime from Oliphant and Chapman.  

Next to attack was Sean Newington giving it everything through the pits area but again the vigilant bunch soon pulled him back. McBain again gave it a go and he opened up a 5-second gap with Russell attempting to get across. However with four to go he was closed down by Russell and the bunch. Russell was doing a power of work closing down any moves and when Stuart McGregor strung out the field with a violent attack it was again the "Great White" hunting him down.

Into the last two laps and  McBain was on the attack again,this time with Newington, and the gap went up to 6 seconds as the bunch briefly resembled a headless chicken with Russell and the Pedal Powers obviously defending their team-mates. But then Oliphant said goodbye to the bunch and made his decisive race winning moves.

Despite not featuring in the result, Chapman (85pts) still leads the table from Oliphant (80) and Russell (72). Gary Hand leads the King of the Sprints with 11 points.

1. Evan Oliphant      Velo Ecosse
2. Jonathan McBain      Pedal Power @ 5 seconds
3. Sean Newington      Edinbrugh raod Club @ 1 second
4. Hamish McLean      Midlothian RT   same time
5. David Lines      Pedal Power   same time
6. Ken Russell      Edinburgh Road Club same time
7. Gary McCrae      Pro Acta Expressa  same time
8. Gavin Cooper      Cromarty Firth CC same time
9. Scott McCrae      Pedal Power   same time
10. Ivor Reid         Clachnacuddin CC same time

Despite the weather 39 riders lined up for the supporting race which turned out to be a clean sweep for Martin Ross of Edinburgh Road Club. He won both sprint primes and the race and at the finish was obviously a delighted man not only having satisfied his female fan club but also put his recent leg problems behind him. In the wet conditions there were some minor skids, the most significant taking out the previous week's winner Pete Lambie, Kingdom RT and young Tony Reidy Pro Acta Expressa.
Shaun Rhodes (Edinburgh Road Club) finished second for the third consecutive week and  retains his lead in the table with 129 points from team-mate Martin Ross who moves up into second spot with 114 with Pete Lambie and Kevin Barclay tied in third on 89 points.

Fiona Walker leads the women's category, Chris Paton the Junior, and Shane Charlton the Youth.

1. Martin Ross      Edinburgh Road Club
2. Shaun Rhodes      Edinburgh Road Club
3. Kevin Barclay      Edinburgh Racers
4. Ben Abrahams      East Midlands
5. Colin Fergus      Unattached
6. Shane Charlton      Kingdom RT
7. Andrew Rowat      Musselburgh RCC
8. Colin Russell      Edinburgh Road Club
9. Peter Gallagher      Kingdom RT
10. Derek Walker      Glasgow Wheelers

   Denise Lamond      Edinburgh Road Club
Chris Paton      Edinburgh Road Club
   Kevin Barclay      Edinburgh Racers

« Last Edit: May 01, 2003, 04:00:00 PM by neil muir »


Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 
SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines