Skip to content
Thanks to our sponsors for their support

Author Topic: Ingliston Criterium Series #7  (Read 3725 times)

neil muir

  • Guest
Ingliston Criterium Series #7
« on: August 14, 2003, 04:00:00 PM »
Ingliston Criterium Series Final Round

The Ingliston Criterium Series reached its climax in the final round on 14 August with the outcome in both leagues still undecided. On a wonderful still, summer evening over 60 riders took the start. In the Premier League, leader Calum McGregor was away at the Surrey Revolutions 5-Dday, leaving runner-up Evan Oliphant to clinch both the series and King of the Sprints title. Hewas not in  his usual dominating form, having to give best to James McCallum(Unattached), despite being led out by team-mate Ross Muir .

A promising four-man break got clear featuring Oliphant his team-mate John Stollery, Graeme McGarrity (Scotoil), and Gary Hand (Pedal Power). As their lead stretched to over 15 seconds, James McCallum and Tom Fernie (Velo Ecosse) tried to bridge across but they were stranded in no-man's land until Muir, sensing the danger,  set off in pursuit. The four leaders were caught by the pursuing trio making a seven-up break containing all four Velo Ecosse riders.

 Attacks from Stollery, Muir and Hand came to nothing and it was Stollery and Muir, aiming to set the win up for Oliphant, who ensured the group stayed clear in the closing laps as the bunch refused to give up the chase. In the sprint McCallum had saved his legs for the final gallop and took the decision in a photo from Oliphant and McGarrity.

Gary McCrae (Pro Acta Expressa) took the sprint for eighth place from Juniors Sean Newington (Edinburgh Road Club) and Stuart McManus (Glasgow Wheelers).

In the First Division race, series leader Martin Ross (Edinburgh Road Club) had to settle for second place in the final sprint from young Tony Reidy (Pro Acta Expressa), who has proved the revelation of the series. However Ross had enough points in hand to easily win the series and the King of the Sprints title in his first full season of racing.

The Youth title was taken by Shane Charlton (Kingdom RT), who also went away £50 richer thanks to an intermediate sprint prime put up by the enthusiastic crowd.

Despite being beaten for the first time in the series by a junior, Chris Paton (Edinburgh Road Club) won the junior category and Denise Lamond made it a good night for the promoting Edinburgh Road Club by taking the female title.

Premier League race
1. James McCallum      Unattached
2. Evan Oliphant      Velo Ecosse
3. Graeme McGarrity      Scotoil
4. Tom Fernie         Velo Ecosse
5. Gary Hand         Pedal Power
6. Ross Muir         Velo Ecosse

Final Premier League Table
1. Evan Oliphant      Velo Ecosse      237 pts
2. Calum McGregor      GS Modena      194
3. Graeme McGarrity      Scotoil         172
4. Ken Russell         Edinburgh RC      140
5. David Lines         Pedal Power      126
6. Gary Hand         Pedal Power      86
7. Richard Chapman      Unattached      85
8. Ross Muir         Velo Ecosse      77
9. John Stollery         Velo Ecosse      73
10. Tom Fernie         Velo Ecosse      68

King of the Sprints      Evan Oliphant      22 pts

First Division race
1. Tony Reidy         Pro Acta Expressa
2. Martin ross         Edinburgh Road Club
3. Bruce Wallace      Hawick CC
4. Cameron Fisher      Glasgow Nightingale
5. Colin Fergus         Unattached
6. Kevin Barclay      Edinburgh Racers

Final First Division Table
1. Martin Ross         Edinburgh Road Club   247 pts
2. Tony Reidy         Pro Acta Expressa   216
3. Pete Lambie      `   Kingdom RT      175
4. Shaun Rhodes      Edinburgh Road club   164
5. Kevin Barclay      Edinburgh Racers      144
6. Shane Charlton      Kingdom RT      137
7. Colin fergus         Edinburgh Tri Club   122
8. Ben Abrahams      West Midlands      105
9. Colin Russell      Edinburgh Road Club   68
10. Peter Galllagher      Kingdom RT      65

King of the Sprints      Martin Ross      27 pts

Youth Category

1. Shane Charlton      Kingdom RT      280 pts
2. Tony Reidy         Pro Acta Expressa   230
3. Kevin Barclay      Edinburgh Racers      220
4. Kieron McMahon      Kirkcaldy and District   183
5. Colin Sandie         Gala CC         130

Junior Category

1. Chris Paton         Edinburgh Road Club   270 pts
2. Bruce Wallace      Hawick CC      50

1. Denise Lamond      Edinburgh Road Club   270 pts
2. Fiona Walker      Sandy Wallace      145
3. Kate Cullen         City of Edinburgh RC   100
4. Pippa Handley      Edinburgh Road Club   70
5. Ruth McGavigan      Pedal Power      50

« Last Edit: August 14, 2003, 04:00:00 PM by neil muir »


Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 
SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines