Skip to content
Thanks to our sponsors for their support

Author Topic: Ingliston 2004 Round 2 15/04/04  (Read 4096 times)


  • Guest
Ingliston 2004 Round 2 15/04/04
« on: April 15, 2004, 04:00:00 PM »
It?s the Evan and Tony Show again!

Round 2 of the Edinburgh RC Ingliston Crit Series saw repeat victories by Tony Reidy and Evan Oliphant, the latter fresh from his under-23 victory in the Girvan. Racing this week was a good deal more aggressive than in round one and the early attacks were enough to put paid to the aspirations of surprise entrant, Scottish XC champion Bruce McCleary. Calum McGregor (GS Modena), Scott Macrae (Pedal Power) and Bryan Russell (Scotoil) were active in the first laps and as they were brought back it was McGregor again in the company of Oliphant, and Edinburgh RC pair Martin Ross and Ross Crook, both previous winners of the supporting series, who forged a small gap. New Pedal Power recruit, former Scottish Commonwealth Games rider, James McCallum got across and the lead grew to 4 seconds. As the break was caught the aggressive Oliphant counter attacked, quickly establishing a 5 second gap. He took the first sprint prime as his lead grew to 8 seconds, with Bryan Russell taking second spot at the head of the bunch. Oliphant ploughed on for several laps stretching his lead to 14 seconds as behind the bunch splintered under the relentless chase. Eventually the Pedal Power team were spurred into action, and upped the pace in the 10 strong chasing pack.

After almost 10 laps out on his own, Oliphant was starting to tire but he had enough in hand to win the second sprint with Calum McGregor and the bunch closing fast. As he was caught, team-mate John Stollery put in the classic counter attack with Gary Macrae (Pedal Power) but their lead was short-lived. Undaunted, Stollery had another go this time with McCallum but with 5 laps to go it was all back together. Martin Lonie put in a determined attack and got a good gap but Stollery brought up the chasers. The attacks were coming thick and fast with Finlay Pretsell (Pedal Power) and the irrepressible Oliphant going clear before Martin Ross closed them down with 3 to go. Lonie had another go with 2 laps left but Oliphant pulled him back and still had enough left to win the sprint and take maximum points on the night. Rising 3rd cat Ross Crook took second from McGregor.

Premier League Result
1.Evan Oliphant   Team Velo Ecosse
2.Ross Crook      Edinburgh RC
3.Calum McGregor   GS Modena
4.James McCallum   Pedal Power
5.Martin Lonie      Johnstone Wheelers
6.Scott Macrae      Pedal Power
7.Bryan Russell   Scotoil
8.Gary Macrae      Pedal Power
9.Finlay Pretsell   Pedal Power
10.Martin Ross      Edinburgh RC

The supporting introductory event attracted a field of 48 despite the dismal weather and EOL format. Tony Reidy (Kingdom RT) stamped his authority on the race, taking the first sprint and second place in the next behind Malcolm Heatly (Hawick CC). Shortly after he got away with Ben Abrahams (Velo Ecosse) and the pair never looked like getting caught. Coming out of the final hairpin, Reidy jumped and Abrahams was left trailing in his wake.

First Division Result
11.Tony Reidy      Kingdom RT
12.Ben Abrahams   Velo Ecosse
13.Bruce Wallace   Classic Walls
14.Brynley Davies   Edinburgh RC
15.Andrew Wardman   Glentress Riders
16.Tosh Scott      Classic Walls
17.Gordon Dickson   Forth Thistle CC
18.Andrew Rowat   Musselburgh RCC
19.Frank Morris    Kingdom RT
20.Tim Darlow      Edinburgh RC

Kate Cullen      City of Edinburgh RC
Fiona Walker   Sandy Wallace

21.Tony Reidy
22.Bruce Wallace
23.Robert Robertson   Glasgow RC
24.Douglas Nisbet   Auchencrow Thistle
25.Scott Robertson   Glasgow RC
26.Andrew Whitehall   Edinburgh Racers
27.John Duncan      Edinburgh RC
28.Steven Quinn   Glenmarnock Wheelers
29.Kieron McMahon   Edinburgh Racers
30.Patrick Galbraith   Edinburgh Racers
« Last Edit: April 15, 2004, 04:00:00 PM by admin »


Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 
SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines