Skip to content
Thanks to our sponsors for their support

Author Topic: Ingliston 2004 Round 5 - 20/05/04  (Read 3747 times)


  • Guest
Ingliston 2004 Round 5 - 20/05/04
« on: May 20, 2004, 04:00:00 PM »
Cycling Scotland Ingliston Criterium Series Final Round 20 May.

Oliphant wraps up series but suffers another defeat in sprinters gala.

GB Espoir Evan Oliphant sharpened himself up for the rigours of the Ras by putting on a display of attacking in this final round of the Cycling Scotland Ingliston Criterium Series. Resplendent in his yellow series leader's jersey, and with a comfortable cushion, he was in the action throughout in this hard fought race. But he could not put the icing on the victory cake by winning this final race where he was squeezed into third place.

Ex-Scottish champion Graeme McGarrity and John Stollery (Velo Ecosse) were prominent in the early action but Oliphant was the first to get a gap with Gary McCrae (Pedal Power) keeping it tight at the front of the bunch. Oliphant was joined by lively junior Tony Reidy (Kingdom RT) but their lead never rose above 2 seconds. Even so Oliphant had enough left to take the first sprint prime as the race came back together. Next to show was Stollery again and he was joined by Richard Garrett (Midlothian RT). Scottish criterium champion Stollery is not yet in the form which he has shown in previous seasons and with the bunch in vigilant mood they were not able to consolidate their advantage. They did stay away to contest a cash sprint put up by the enthusiastic crowd, which Garrett took.

Current Scottish road champion, Andy Young (Python RT) brought up the bunch as the pace went up again for the second points prime which James McCallum (Pedal Power) took. Tony Reidy was a casualty of a broken chain and was not able to rejoin within the required one lap.

With announcer Jammie Johnston whipping up cash for an extra prime, McCallum again had the appetite to stuff a few more pounds into his bulging maillot. The pace was relentless with no break being allowed to develop more than a few seconds. Matt Smith (Edinburgh RC) was one to stay off the front for over a lap, and he was rewarded by taking the third sprint prime before a rapidly closing bunch.

Teammate Ken Russell then put in an attack but he was chased down by Oliphant who then forged a small gap with McCallum and McGarrity for company. With five laps to go Young brought up the bunch but Oliphant went again, and again he was closed down by Young and Russell. Whether it was the presence of his director sportif, Gregor Russell at the track side, Oliphant had another go up through the chicane and got a small gap. The response caused series contender Ross Crook (Edinburgh RC) to lose contact with the thundering group.

Oliphant was brought back and then Smith had another go with Stollery, but again the bunch was in no mood to let them go and, with Smith struggling to assist, Young brought up the bunch. At the bell Stollery led the bunch from McGarrity and Oliphant. The pundits were expecting another Velo Ecosse win but the smart money was on McCallum who had saved the legs enough to take the sprint with ease, crossing the line with arms raised, for a repeat Ingliston victory. Oliphant was surprisingly relegated to third by veteran fastman Graeme McGarrity but he had the satisfaction of taking the series and the King of the Sprints title for the second consecutive time.

Race Result:
1.James McCallum      Pedal Power
2.Graeme McGarrity      Scotoil
3.Evan Oliphant      Velo Ecosse
4.Andy Young         Python RT
5.Richard Garrett      Midlothian RT
6.Ken Russell         Edinburgh RC

Series Final Result:
7.Evan Oliphant            194points
8.James McCallum            146
9.Calum McGregor (GS Modena)      132
10.Ross Crook               121
11.Bryan Russell (Scotoil)         75
12.Martin Ross   (Edinburgh RC)         63

King of the Sprints
Evan Oliphant         

The supporting race for 4th cats was a similarly tight affair with no significant breaks able to develop. Promising youngster Douglas Nisbet (Auchencrow Thistle) and Tim Darlow (Edimburgh RC) were both prominent throughout but it was wily supervet Tosh Scott (Classic Walls) who sneaked through at the finish ahead of Colin Fergus. Though a non-starter in the final round, Ben Abrahams (Velo Ecosse) won the series overall from Tony Reidy (Kingsom RT) and Bruce Wallace (Classic Walls).

Race Result:
13.Tosh Scott         Classic Walls
14.Colin Fergus         Unattached
15.Colin Russell      Edinburgh RC
16.Douglas Nisbet      Auchencrow Thistle
17.Andrew Rowat      Musselburgh RCC
18.Shay Campbell      Unattached

Series Result:
19.Ben Abrahams      156 points
20.Tony Reidy         154
21.Bruce Wallace      111
22.Tosh Scott         108
23.Andrew Wardman      86
24.Andrew Rowat      85

King of the Sprints:
Tony Reidy         14 points

25.Kate Cullen   City of Edinburgh RC      200
26.Fiona Walker   Sandy Wallace      133
27.Pippa Handley Edinburgh RC         75

Tony Reidy   Kingdom RT         150
Robert Robertson Glasgow Road Club      150
Bruce Wallace Classic Walls         120

Scott Robertson   Glasgow RC         205
Douglas Nisbet   Auchencrow Thistle      165
John Duncan   Edinburgh RC         165
Andrew Whitehall Edinburgh Racers      105
« Last Edit: May 20, 2004, 04:00:00 PM by admin »


Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 
SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines