Skip to content
Thanks to our sponsors for their support

Author Topic: Ingliston 2005 Round 1 14/04/05  (Read 3605 times)


  • Guest
Ingliston 2005 Round 1 14/04/05
« on: April 14, 2005, 04:00:00 PM »

The first event of the 2005 Ingliston Criterium Series sponsored by Cycling Scotland and Walkers Cycling Services attracted a healthy field of 80 riders. They had to contend with a snell, cold wind blowing down the finishing straight making it a very hard night.

In the Premier Race 26 riders took the start including in-form Scottish juniors Kevin Barclay and Tony Reidy, a strong Pedal Power squad led by James McCallum, Stuart McGregor and Graham McGarrity of C21 Multisport RT and Calum McGregor (Bicycleworks). A surprise entrant was Michael Van Der Vlies who had made the long trip down from Elgin to take part.

The action was immediate with James McCallum and Tony Reidy (Dooleys RT) going clear. That effort came to nought but it was McCallum who took both intermediate sprints from Barclay. In the closing laps Jack Woodward( who had been away in an earlier break and Stuart McGregor (C21 Multisport RT) forged what looked like the winning move. But their finessing started a lap too soon as they were overhauled by the fast-moving bunch with a quarter of a lap left. That set up a finish for the sprinters and it was Barclay who timed his effort to perfection into the stiff headwind to take the win from evergreen Graham McGarrity (C21 Multisport RT) and Ross Crook (Edinburgh RC The Bicycleworks).

Full result: Kevin Barclay Kingdom RT
Graham McGarrity C21 Multisport RT
Ross Crook Edinburgh RC/The Bicycleworks
James McCallum Pedal Power
Kieran Hay Stirling Bike Club
Jack Woodward
Gary McCrae Pedal Power
Stuart McGregor C21 Multisport RT
Thomas Quinn Square Wheels
Gregor Brown Edinburgh RC/The Bicycleworks

In the Introductory event the field splintered into 3 main groups with single riders scattered all around the circuit. Andrew Turnbull (Falkirk BC) showed his strength by making a solo break with about a quarter of the race to go and building a commanding lead by the finish from a chasing group of nine riders which finished 39 seconds down. It was led home by born-again Bruce Croall (Edinburgh RC/The Bicycleworks) from wily Steve McQueen (Falkirk BC).

Full result: Andrew Turnbull Falkirk BC
Bruce Croall Edinburgh RC/The Bicycleworks
Steve McQueen Falkirk BC
Mark Millington
Colin Fergus Edinburgh RC/The Bicycleworks
Iain Jackson Edinburgh RC/The Bicycleworks
Jim Leach Edinburgh RC/The Bicycleworks
Tosh Scott Classic Walls
Ross Yates Edinburgh Racers
Gavin Noble Unattached

Women Pippa Handley Edinburgh RC/The Bicycleworks
Anna Walker Walker Cycling Services
Junior Gareth Jones Edinburgh RC/The Bicycleworks
James Clark Musselburgh RCC
Youth Ross Yates Edinburgh Racers
Peter Ettles Forres CC
Steven Quinn Glenmarnock Wheelers
John Duncan Edinburgh RC/The Bicycleworks
Jamie McQueen Unattached

Ingliston Criterium Series 2005 Master Table
Premier League after 1 event            
Position   Name   Cat   Club   Total
1   Kevin Barclay   J   Kingdom RT   54
2   Graham McGarrity   E   MultisportRT   40
3   James McCallum   1   Pedal Power   36
4   Ross Crook   2   EdinburghRC    35
5   Kieran Hay   3   Stirling Bike Club   25
6   Jack Woodward   4   20
7   Gary McCrae   2   Pedal Power   18
8   Stuart McGregor   E   MultisportRT   16
9   Thomas Quinn   1   Square Wheels   14
10   Gregor Brown   3   EdinburghRC    12
11   Calum McGrtegor   E   1
12   Martin Ross   2   Musselburgh RCC   1
First Division  after 1 event            
Position   Name   Cat   Club   Total
1   Andrew Turnbull      Falkirk BC   56
2   Bruce Croall   4   Edinburgh RC   40
3   Steve McQueen   4   Falkirk BC   36
4   Mark Millington   4   30
5   Colin Fergus   4   Edinburgh RC   25
6   Jim Leach      Edinburgh RC   21
7   Iain Jackson   4   Edinburgh RC   20
8   Tosh Scott   4   Classic Walls   16
9   Ross Yates   YA   Edinburgh Racers   14
10   Gavin Noble      Unattached   14
Women after 1 events            
Position   Name   Cat   Club   Total
1   Pippa Handley      Edinburgh RC   50
2   Anna Walker      Walkers Cycling team   40
3   Fiona Walker      Sandy Wallace   35
Junior after 2 events            
Position   Name   Cat   Club   Total
1   Gareth Jones      Edinburgh RC   50
2   james Clark      Musselburgh RCC   40
Youth after 1 events            
Position   Name   Cat   Club   Total
1   Ross Yates      Edinburgh Racers   50
2   Peter Ettles      Forres CC   40
3   Steven Quinn      Glenmarnock Whors   35
4   John Duncan      Edinburgh RC   30
5   Jamie McQueen         25
« Last Edit: April 14, 2005, 04:00:00 PM by admin »


Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 
SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines