Skip to content
Thanks to our sponsors for their support

Author Topic: Ingliston 2005 Round 2 28/04/05  (Read 3421 times)


  • Guest
Ingliston 2005 Round 2 28/04/05
« on: April 28, 2005, 04:00:00 PM »
Emphatic win by in-form Newington

Young Scottish Espoir Sean Newington (Dooleys North Beach), scored an emphatic win in the second round of the Cycling Scotland Ingliston Criterium series after leaving his 2 breakaway companions in the last quarter of the race and soloing to a 52 second win over the chasers.

On another windy night it was first round winner Kevin Barclay (Kingdom RT) who got the action under way by attacking from the gun. He was quickly closed down by Mark Silver (Pedal Power) but was in the action again soon after, going clear with Chris Smart (Glasgow Coureurs), Calum McGregor (, Newington and Graham McGarrity(C21 Multisports). Sensing the danger, Lee Whitelaw (Edinburgh RC/the Bicycleworks) took off in pursuit, making the junction just before the first sprint prime which was taken by Barclay from the two Macs.

The move was eventually neutralised and it was Whitelaw who took off again in his quest for an additional cash prime which he took. Newington and Paul McInally (Pedal Power) attacked to join Whitelaw and the three worked well to establish a 16 second gap by the second sprint prime which Newington won from McInally. The blistering pace eventually took its toll on McInally and as he fell back Robert Wardell (Sandy Wallace Cycles) was making a big effort to get across. As the gap to the leading pair rose to 24 seconds McInally sat up to be joined by a 9-man chasing group including most of the big hitters. The duo's lead was inexorably being reduced and as it dropped to 17 seconds Whitelaw could no longer hold on to the young Newington. The pace had also told on the chasing group which had been whittled down to 5 riders as they caught Whitelaw.

Despite losing his breakaway companion Newington, smoothly pedalling a small gear, maintained his advantage. With the finish approaching, the chasers slowed in the cat and mouse for second place and Newington crossed the line arms aloft to win by almost a minute. The clever money was on McGarrity to take the group sprint and he did not disappoint!

Full Result Premier League
1.   Sean Newington   Dooleys North Beach
2.   Graham Mcgarrity   C21 Multisport
3.   Chris Smart      Glasgow Coureurs
4.   Calum McGregor
5.   Paul McInally      Pedal Power
6.   Lee Whitelaw      Edinburgh RC
7.   Gary McCrae      Pedal Power
8.   Kevin Barclay      Kingdom RT
9.   Ross Crook      Edinburgh RC
10.   Ross Creber      Sandy Wallace Cycles

The introductory event was remarkable for the almost complete dominance of riders from promoting club, Edinburgh RC/The Bicycleworks. They took the first five places in the open category in which Bruce Croall took the victory to go to the top of the league table and the top four places in the women's category where Pippa Handley won for the second time. Young Peter Ettles made his trip from Forres worthwhile by taking the youth category.

Result First division
1.   Bruce Croall      Edinburgh RC
2.   Alistair Simpson   Edinburgh RC
3.   Cameron Wood      Edinburgh RC
4.   Brynley Davies      Edinburgh RC
5.   Olivier del Corto   Edinburgh RC
6.   Peter Hamilton       Unattached
7.   Tosh Scott      Classic Walls
8.   Alistair Eason       Edinburgh RC
9.   Mark Millington
10.   Gordon Dickson      Forth Thistle

1.   Pippa Handley      Edinburgh RC
2.   Denise Lamond      Edinburgh RC
3.   Sandra Murdoch   Edinburgh RC
4.   Hazel Sutherland   Edinburgh RC

1.   James Clark      Musselburgh RCC
2.   Keri McMahon      Kirkcaldy and District

1.   Peter Ettles      Forres CC
2.   Hamish Creber      Sandy Wallace
3.   Jamie McQueen   Glasgow Wheelers
4.   Kieron McMahon   Edinburgh Racers
5.   John Duncan      Edinburgh RC
6.   Stephen Quinn      Glenmarnock Wheelers
7.   Daniel Durie      Pedal Power

Ingliston Criterium Series 2005 Master Table
Premier League after 2 events            
Position   Name   Cat   Club   Total
1   Graham McGarrity   E   MultisportRT   81
2   Kevin Barclay   J   Kingdom RT   73
3   Sean Newington   E   Dooleys RT   53
4   Ross Crook   2   EdinburghRC    49
5   James McCallum   1   Pedal Power   36
6   Gary McCrae   2   Pedal Power   36
7   Chris Smart   1   Glasgow couriers   35
8   Calum McGrtegor   E   33
9   Paul McInally   3   Pedal Power   27
10   Kieran Hay   3   Stirling Bike Club   25
11   Lee Whitelaw   1   EdinburghRC    21
12   Jack Woodward   4   20
13   Stuart McGregor   E   MultisportRT   16
14   Thomas Quinn   1   Square Wheels   14
15   Gregor Brown   3   EdinburghRC    12
16   Ross Creber   J   Sandy Wallace   12
17   Martin Ross   2   Musselburgh RCC   1
First Division  after 2events            
Position   Name   Cat   Club   Total
1   Bruce Croall   4   Edinburgh RC   92
2   Andrew Turnbull      Falkirk BC   56
3   Mark Millington   4   47
4   Alistair Simpson      Edinburgh RC   42
5   Steve McQueen   4   Falkirk BC   36
6   Cameron Wood      Edinburgh RC   36
7   Tosh Scott   4   Classic Walls   34
8   Brynley Davies      Edinburgh RC   30
9   Colin Fergus   4   Edinburgh RC   25
10   Olivier del Corto      Edinburgh RC   25
11   Ian Jackson   4   Edinburgh RC   23
12   Jim Leach      Edinburgh RC   21
13   Peter Hamilton      Unattached   20
14   Alistair Eason      Edinburgh RC   16
15   Ross Yates   YA   Edinburgh Racers   14
16   Gavin Noble      Unattached   14
17   Gordon Dickson      Forth Thistle   12
18   Daniel Durie   YA   Pedal Power   1
Women after 2 events            
Position   Name   Cat   Club   Total
1   Pippa Handley      Edinburgh RC   100
2   Anna Walker      Walkers Cycling team   40
3   Denise Lamond      Edinburgh RC   40
4   Fiona Walker      Sandy Wallace   35
5   Sandra Murdoch      Edinburgh RC   35
6   Hazel Sutherland      Edinburgh RC   30
7   Mhairi Mitchell      Team Velo Ecosse   25
8   Cllaudia Nitzig      Edinburgh RC   20
9   Gaynor Hamilton      Edinburgh RC   18
10   Janine Yensman      Edinburgh RC   16
Junior after 2 events            
Position   Name      Club   Total
1   Gareth Jones      Edinburgh RC   50
2   james Clark      Musselburgh RCC   90
3   Keri McMahon      Kirkcaldy and District   40
Youth after 2 events            
Position   Name      Club   Total
1   Peter Ettles      Forres CC   90
2   Jamie McQueen      Glasgow Wheelers   60
3   Steven Quinn      Glenmarnock Whors   55
4   John Duncan      Edinburgh RC   55
5   Ross Yates      Edinburgh Racers   50
6   Hamish Creber      Sandy Wallace   40
7   Kieran McHahon      Edinburgh Racers   30
8   Daniel Durie      Pedal Power   20

« Last Edit: April 28, 2005, 04:00:00 PM by admin »


Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 
SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines