Skip to content
Thanks to our sponsors for their support

Author Topic: Ingliston 2005 Round 5 26/05/05  (Read 4221 times)


  • Guest
Ingliston 2005 Round 5 26/05/05
« on: May 26, 2005, 04:00:00 PM »
Whitelaw wins but wily McGarrity wraps up the Ingliston Crit Series

Lee Whitelaw (Edinburgh RC) took the final round of the Cycling Scotland Ingliston Criterium Series from a four-man break but in a highly tactical race it was experienced Graham McGarrity (C21 Multisport) who took the series.

On a bright sunny evening, race commentator Jammie Johnston was in fine form and he managed to garner £40 from the crowd as cash prime prizes. First into the money was Whitelaw during the early laps as McGarrity pulled his foot at the crucial moment, but he managed not to do a "Zabel"!

Calum MeGregor, James McCallum and Ross Crook were prominent in early attacks but it was not until McCallum attacked for the second time with John Stollery for company, that a real gap opened up. They were soon joined by Whitelaw and Jack Woodward and the gap went up to 17 seconds. This was to be the crucial break as in the bunch McGarrity and Kevin Barclay who both were in contention for the overall series, were watching each other. Many other riders had a man in the break so there was little urgency in the chase.

Whitelaw took the first points prime as the break's lead stretched to 30 seconds and McCallum took the second with the bunch now 1 minute back.

SCU Division Two Road Race leader Donald Scally (Johnstone Wheelers) decided the club run pace was not to his liking and took off with Lewis Oliphant for company. Oliphant was not able to hold his pace and fell back to the bunch after several laps, but Scally soldiered manfully on in no-man's land to be eventually rewarded with a fine fifth place.

McGarrity stretched the bunch, now some 90 seconds down, in an effort to drop Barclay but his effort was neutralised by Calum McGregor. With four laps to go Paul McInally (Pedal Power) attacked from the bunch and soon got a sizeable gap.

The break had been working well together throughout, but with 2 laps to go the attacks started. First Stollery, then Woodward took the initiative, but fast finishers Whitelaw and McCallum responded to the danger. In the run into the finish the break virtually caught the main field and it was Whitelaw who had saved enough in his legs to take his first win in the series from McCallum, Woodward, and Stollery. Scally and McInally both came in alone. On the last lap McGarrity clipped off the front of the bunch with Gary Macrae and Peter Ettles (Forres CC) to take seventh and the series.

Premier league result:
1. Lee Whitelaw Edinburgh RC/The Bicycleworks
2. James McCallum Pedal Power
3. Jack Woodward
4. John Stollery Velo Ecasse
5. Donald Scally Johnstone Wheelers
6. Paul McInally Pedal Power

King of the Sprints: Whitelaw.

In the supporting race, Bruce Croall (Edinburgh RC) already had the series sewn up, so the great red erc machine went to work to get Colin Fergus the victory, thus displacing rival Mark Millington (, who could only finish 5th, to third place overall in the series.

1. Colin Fergus Edinburgh RC
2. Andrew Wardman Glentress Riders
3. Bruce Croall Edinburgh RC
4. Ross Yates Edinburgh Racers
5. Mark Millington
6. Cameron Wood Edinburgh RC

1. Pippa Handley Edinburgh RC
2. Claudia Nitzig Edinburgh RC
3. Fiona Walker Sandy Wallace
1. James Clark Musselburgh RCC
2. Kerrie McMahon Kirkcaldy and District

1. Ross Yates Edinburgh Racers
2. Steven Quinn Glenmarnock Wheelers
3. Peter Ettles Forres CC
4. John Duncan Edinburgh RC
5. Jamie McQueen Glasgow Wheelers
6. Kieran McMahon Edinburgh Racers

Premier League Final Table         
Position   Name   Club   Total
1   Graham McGarrity   MultisportRT   183
2   Kevin Barclay   Kingdom RT   141
3   Lee Whitelaw   EdinburghRC    116
4   Ross Crook   EdinburghRC    99
5   Calum McGregor   95
6   James McCallum   Pedal Power   91
7   Jack Woodward   83
8   Gary McCrae   Pedal Power   68
9   Paul McInally   Pedal Power   61
10   Stuart McGregor   MultisportRT   59
11   Sean Newington   Dooleys RT   53
12   Tony Reidy   North Beach Dooleys   50
13   Evan Oliphant   Recycling   50
14   Chris Smart   Glasgow couriers   35
15   John Stollery   Velo ecosse   31
16   Kieran Hay   Stirling Bike Club   25
17   donald Scally   Johnstone Whlrs   25
18   Robert Wardell   Sandy Wallace   16
19   Thomas Quinn   Square Wheels   14
20   Richard Garrett   Unattached   14
21   Peter Ettles   Forres CC   14
22   Gregor Brown   EdinburghRC    12
23   Ross Creber   Sandy Wallace   12
24   Graham Barclay   Kingdom RT   12
25   Martin Ross   Musselburgh RCC   1

First Division Final Table         
1   Bruce Croall   Edinburgh RC   237
2   Colin Fergus   Edinburgh RC   135
3   Mark Millington   111
4   Cameron Wood   Edinburgh RC   91
5   Tosh Scott   Classic Walls   86
6   Andrew Wardman   Glentress  Riders   80
7   Ross Yates   Edinburgh Racers   70
8   Ian Jackson   Edinburgh RC   67
9   John Mcarthy   57
10   Andrew Turnbull   Falkirk BC   56
11   Alistair Simpson   Edinburgh RC   42
12   Steve McQueen   Falkirk BC   36
13   Bill Wilkie   Edinburgh RC   36
14   Peter Hamilton   Unattached   36
15   Iain Williamson   Denny RC   33
16   Brynley Davies   Edinburgh RC   33
17   Olivier del Corto   Edinburgh RC   25
18   Jim Leach   Edinburgh RC   21
19   Robert Vrankovic   Edinburgh RC   18
20   Alistair Eason   Edinburgh RC   16
21   James McIlhatton   Law Weheelers   15
22   Gavin Noble   Unattached   14
23   Gordon Dickson   Forth Thistle   14
24   Simon Peachey   14
25   Martin Steel   Unattached   12
26   Peter Ettles   Forres CC   2
27   Graham Lawrie   Gala cc   2
28   Daniel Durie   Pedal Power   1

Women Final Table         
1   Pippa Handley   Edinburgh RC   240
2   Claudia Nitzig   Edinburgh RC   130
3   Fiona Walker   Sandy Wallace   65
4   Kate Cullen   COERC   50
5   Anna Walker   Walkers Cycling team   40
6   Denise Lamond   Edinburgh RC   40
7   Shona Robertson   Glenmarnock Whlrs   40
8   Sandra Murdoch   Edinburgh RC   35
9   Phyllis Mitchell   Unattached   35
10   Hazel Sutherland   Edinburgh RC   30
11   Mhairi Mitchell   Team Velo Ecosse   25
12   Gaynor Hamilton   Edinburgh RC   18
13   Janine Yensman   Edinburgh RC   16

Junior Final Table         
1   James Clark   Musselburgh RCC   190
2   Keri McMahon   Kirkcaldy and District   120
3   Gareth Jones   Edinburgh RC   50

Youth final table         
1   Ross Yates   Edinburgh Racers   175
2   Steven Quinn   Glenmarnock Whlrs   165
3   Peter Ettles   Forres CC   155
4   John Duncan   Edinburgh RC   140
5   Jamie McQueen   Glasgow Wheelers   100
6   Kieran McMahon   Edinburgh Racers   85
7   Andy Whitehall   Edinburgh Racers   80
8   Hamish Creber   Sandy Wallace   40
9   Daniel Durie   Pedal Power   20
10   Ryan Morris   Hawick CC   18
11   Blair Fraser   Edinburgh RC   16
12   Nicholas Wylie   Edinburgh Racers   14
« Last Edit: May 26, 2005, 04:00:00 PM by admin »


Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 
SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines