Skip to content
Thanks to our sponsors for their support

Author Topic: Cycling Scotland Ingliston Criterium Series 3  (Read 3829 times)

neil muir

  • Guest
Cycling Scotland Ingliston Criterium Series 3
« on: May 04, 2006, 04:00:00 PM »
Cycling Scotland Ingliston Criterium Series Number 3

Gary Hand (Agisko/Dart/ took the honours in the third race of the Cycling Scotland Ingliston Criterium Series at the Royal Highland Showground at then of an epic battle with Jack Woodward (Science in Sport).

The pair broke away after 15 minutes of racing in the 40 minutes plus five lap event and quickly established a lead of 8 seconds which eventually stretched to 38 seconds with five laps remaining.

Although Woodward took three intermediate sprint primes, he was never able to shake off Hand and they were still locked together at the bell. Hand made his effort half way around the final circuit and when he reappeared from behind the Royal Bank building had stolen several lengths.

He extended his advantage around the last bend and powered up the home straight into a stiff headwind to cross the line around five second clear of his rival.

Behind them, there was an equally engrossing tussle for third spot. John Stollery (Parker International) made an effort to get away seven laps from home but he was reeled in by Kevin Barclay (Merlin Development) and Andy Mathieson (Musselburgh RCC) and it was junior rider Barclay who managed to slip away in the closing stages to claim third spot.

Earlier, Cameron Wood had led an Edinburgh RC 1-2-3 when he came home at the head of a 45 rider field to take top slot in the support race, just getting the better of Rob Vrankovic and Alistair Easton in a tight finish.

Jamie McQueen (Glasgow Wheelers) was the leading junior rider and Madeleine Robinson (Border City Wheelers) the only lady finisher, while Steven Quinn (Glenmarnock Wheelers) underlined his recent good form when he was the first youth. (Report courtesy of Colin Renton)

Full results:
1. Gary Hand       Agisko/Dart/
2. Jack Woodward   SIS
3. Kevin Barclay      Merlin Dev Squad
4. Ross Crook      Edinburghrc/The bicycleworks
5. John McCarthy
6. Ken Russell      Edinburghrc/The Bicycleworks
7. Andy Mathieson   Musselburgh RCC
8. Tom Fernie      Velo Ecosse
9. George Buchanan   Glasgow United
10. Andy Rowat      Musselburgh RCC

Hand takes over the lead in the series with 125 points from John McCarthy 116 and Kevin Barclay 109.

First division
1. Cameron Wood      Edinburghrc/The Bicycleworks
2. Rob Vrankovic         Edinburghrc/The Bicycleworks
3. Alister Easton         Edinburghrc/The Bicycleworks
4. Jamie McQueen      Glasgow Wheelers
5. Peter Hamilton         Unattached
6. David Crombie         Dunfermline CC
7. Mark Jordan         Unattached
8. Eric Easton         Edinburghrc/The Bicycleworks
9. Joe Manley         Dunfermline CC
10. Graeme Meigle      West Highland Wheelers

Richard Allen moved up to the Premier race but still leads the First division series with 109 points from Peter Hamilton 95 and Alister Easton 61.

1. Jamie McQueen      Glasgow Wheelers
2. Graeme Meigle         West Highland Wheelers
3. Aidan McIlroy         Auchencrow Thistle
4. John Duncan         Edinburghrc/the Bicycleworks
5. Blair Fraser         Edinburghrc/The Bicycleworks
6. Blair Gibb         Pedal Power

McQueen leads the Junior table with 150 points from John Duncan 95 and Callum Wilkinson 80.

1. Madeleine Robinson      Border City Wheelers

Ruth McGavigan leads the series with 90 points.

1. Steven Quinn          Glenmarnock Wheelers
2. Kieron McMahon      Edinburgh Racers
3. Ryan Morris         Hawick CC
4. Oliver Young         Edinburghrc/The Bicycleworks
5. Patrick Galbraith      Velo Ecosse
6. David Vinton         Edinburghrc/The Bicycleworks

Ryan Morris leads the series with 115 points from Quinn 96 and McMahon 75.

Results courtesy of Bill Dunscombe Kirkcaldy and District  
« Last Edit: May 04, 2006, 04:00:00 PM by neil muir »


Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 
SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines