Eastern Promise 2019 Road Race result

19 August 2019

A hard fought race on a windy August day.

Photo: © Phil Darby

The 2019 Eastern Promise Road Race was won by Julian Roche (Otley CC) after 2hrs 3m 23s mins of racing over 52.3miles on the Gladhouse circuit. He got the better of his 2 breakaway companions, Tom Merry (Edinburgh University CC) and Aiden Quinn (Dooleys Cycles). A chasing group of 9 riders, which included the promoting club’s Alan Dean, as brought home by Tim Blathwayt (Veloclub Edinburgh).

Racing was hard from the manic start, with some of the highest speeds being recorded on the first lap which caused early depletion of the bunch. Side winds forced the race into echelons on the northern leg of the course from topside towards Howgate. The next laps were calmer with multiple attacks but nothing stuck. However, high intensity action restarted on lap 3 with podium trio getting away after the Westloch climb. Initially their gap was only seconds with smaller groups struggling to close the gaps. These groups pushed hard to get back terms resulting in consolidation into two groups of about 9 riders. After rejoining the Peebles Road at Ledburn the leading gap grew significantly as chasers lost coherence, so much so that the 4th placed rider was 59 secs behind the winner. The small following bunches were subsequently blown apart by the climb to the line, simplifying the work of the judges.

The forecast high winds contributed to only 32 finishers from the 57 who took the start. Thankfully the rain largely held off. The neutral service mechanic was kept busy with many punctures on the less than perfect tarmac found on some sections of the course. Double leg-punctures were responsible for other abandonments, with riders recording power outputs of over 500 watts on the neutralised climb.

After the race, Julian said he had returned this year to avenge his disappointment at missing the break in the 2018 edition. He was rewarded by pushing last year’s winner into second place. In September he intends to return from Yorkshire to Scotland compete in the Tour of the Lammermuirs. Other riders described the race was ‘pretty tough’, ‘brutal’ and ‘full-on’ but some competitors said that it was probably their favourite event of the year. Another vote of confidence in ERC promotions.

The organiser’s main issue was the late arrival of the HQ key which necessitated sign-on opening in a van outside the door. Apart from that, an able crew ensured the race was smooth-running, safe and successful.

Many thanks to those who volunteered their time on a blustery Sunday.

The following Strava fly-by map indicates where riders were located when the race was won.

The time gaps over the course of the race are displayed below. This was created using representatives of the 3 main groups. Notice the bridge from the chasing peleton to the 9-up bunch.

Category Club
1 Julian Roche 2nd Otley CC
2 Tom Merry 2nd Edinburgh University CC
3 Aidan Quinn 2nd Dooleys cycles
4 Tim Blathwayt 2nd Veloclub Edinburgh
5 Alastair McNicol 2nd Dooleys cycles
6 David Lines 2nd Wheelbase CabTech Castelli
7 Christopher Burns 2nd Reifen Racing
8 Alan Dean 2nd Edinburgh RC
9 Greig Brown 2nd Bioracer- Moriarty Bikes
10 Murray Soutter 3rd Glasgow Green Cycle Club
11 Christopher Hordon 2nd-Jnr Spokes Racing Team
12 Thomas Gelati 2nd Bioracer- Moriarty Bikes
13 Hamish MacLaren 3rd-Jnr Sprockets Cycle Club
14 Jake Cowen 2nd
15 Simon Bullock 4th Edinburgh RC
16 Jed Scott 2nd-Jnr Moray Firth Cycling Club
17 Ben Dixon 3rd Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA
18 Nick Kalson 2nd Reifen Racing
19 Andy Auld 3rd Team Andrew Allan Architecture
20 Rod Leach 3rd Team Andrew Allan Architecture
21 Jesse Vernon 3rd Edinburgh RC
22 Ricardo Parreirinha 3rd Ronde Works Racing
23 Sean Delaney 2nd Velocita Coaching Race Team
24 Simon Gibbs 3rd Reifen Racing
25 Louie Doig 2nd-Jnr Edinburgh RC
26 Louis Moore 2nd Edinburgh University CC
27 Christopher Mellor 3rd VC Glasgow South
28 Ross Cunningham 3rd Glasgow Glenmarnock Wheelers
29 Alasdair Watt 3rd Musselburgh RCC
30 Hamish Strachan 4th-Jnr Edinburgh RC
31 Philip Addy 4th Stirling Bike Club
32 Marcus Rae 3rd Kinross CC