Looking, forward and back

23 February 2022

Photo: © Various

The recent announcement by British Cycling serves to remind us of the talent that ERC has nurtured in the recent past. Where are they now?

Anna Flynn has retained her place on the Women's mountain bike cross-country programme. Last weekend she competed in the UCI event - Internacionales Chelva XCO. Former ERC youth rider, Ross Birrell was included in the same announcement, confirming his place in Senior Academy Programme, Men’s Endurance. This follows from his gold medal in the team pursuit at the European track championships. In addition, Junior club member Kirsty Johnston is guesting with the GB sprint squad while being coached by Scottish Cycling's sprint coach, David Daniel. (Watch out - Kirsty's sister Sarah managed to break her older sibling's U16 500m Scottish record at the weekend).

Anna's brother Sean continues his progress in road cycling having joined the Swiss Racing Academy for the coming season. Another former youth rider, Stuart Balfour, rode for that same Swiss team last year and has now moved to Ribble-Weldtite.

ERC's Junior (U18) team has seen some of their alumni move to new teams.

Beth Morrow moved from Storey Racing to CAMS-Basso where she hopes to engage in some serious continental racing alongside some of the UK's best female riders. Callum Johnson continues to ride for Spanish professional squad Caja Rural Seguros RGA. Hamish Strachan has moved from Zappi Holdsworth, (where he was riding along former ERC youth rider, Matthias Barnet) to another Spanish team Fundación De Ciclismo Benicadell. Logan Maclean will be riding for the UK based Wheelbase Cabtech Castelli, following time off from injury last year. Finally, Alex Ball is moving to Hamish's former following a short guest appearance for them in Italy during 2021.

You will be able to see some of these riders, and other up and coming talents, at the Gifford Road Races on Sat 19 March. There's a ringside seat for volunteers.

That’s quite a total of young talent that have come through the club. We wish all these riders the best for the coming year.